No ‘Poo Round Up: The Chosen One

Why hello there, Internet!  It seems I still exist, surprisingly enough.  I fear my blogging habits were interrupted by my return to the realm of academia, but now that the term is over I have re-entered the blogosphere.  Posting may be sporadic for the next few months, but I’m still here! I promise.

Anywho, I’m sure you all have been desperately awaiting the big reveal of what magical hair routine worked out for the best.  ‘Cause y’all love me, right? (Don’t answer that.)

So here it is, at long last.  My current hair routine, with which I am extremely happy.

Every couple of days, I wash my hair with plain water and follow it up with a coffee rinse (more on that later).  If it needs a little help with grease I’ll use a tiny bit of Castile soap before the rinse. (I use the bar form — I have yet to try liquid for this but haven’t felt the need to.  Also note that using this too much will not lead to happy hair, but used sparingly I’ve had good experiences overall.)

After letting my hair air dry at least most of the way, I apply a small amount of my homemade hair balm (recipe to come) or an even tinier amount of jojoba or olive oil and brush it through.  (This is a fine line between “moisturized” and “greasy,” hence the very small amounts.  In my experience the hair balm leaves a little more margin for error.)  This step helps protect my hair and make it silky smooth while combatting the little frizzies that sometimes like to happen when there’s moisture around.

Generally I find it’s best to wash my hair as little as possible, so I will often go up to a week without exposing it to the sad Los Angeles water that makes it cry.  While it still doesn’t get as greasy as it might have in bygone times, there are instances when it needs a little help, so I use a dry shampoo made of a roughly 50/50 mix of cornstarch or arrowroot powder and cocoa powder.  (Recipes for this can be found all over the interwebs these days, but as a general rule of thumb the cocoa is there primarily for color and the ingredients do not need to be remotely exact.  I say use as much or as little as you feel comfortable with and see what works for you.)

Every so often if my dandruff catches up with me again, I will also use a sugar scrub to remove flakes and moisturize my scalp.  It’s nothing like the coal tar shampoo I used to use, but overall I’ve found it quite effective and I don’t generally need to use it more than once a month at most.

Thus far my hair has been extremely happy with this method.  It has been silky, soft, and quite manageable — a very good thing as it slowly approaches its habitual length somewhere below my waist.  So at long last, I think I can say confidently that my hair and I have found our happy place.

Leave a Reply

