Black Rice Ramen with Mushrooms and Egg

I have a confession to make.

I love ramen. And I’m not talking about the real deal that you can get in restaurants in Little Tokyo — that stuff is amazing, but not what I’m confessing to. I’m talking about those dehydrated noodles packaged in orange plastic containing a laundry list of ingredients I couldn’t possibly hope to pronounce. Here I am, a real food lover who has been on a massive quest for better health for years, and I love those ridiculous processed noodles.

It’s a bunch of things, really. For one thing, a hot cup of broth with plenty of noodles to slurp has always felt like such a cozy thing to me. Full of aromatic and pungent spices, it’s something I crave when I want something both light and warming, perfect for colds or just when you want hot soup.

image

 

But more than that, I think my ramen love is largely borne out of convenience. I love to cook, and I love to eat truly good food, but sometimes when I’m pressed for time or just want something absurdly easy after a long day, the convenience of dumping a couple of packages into hot water and calling it a meal sounds really, really nice.

Thankfully, I’ve found a happy medium in this recipe. Healthy food that I can actually identify as having come from nature, with (almost) all the convenience of typical processed ramen. It uses black rice ramen, which can be found at various health food stores and even the occasional run of the mill grocery store. It contains nothing but a blend of black, brown, and white rice flours, is completely gluten-free, and is quite frankly far more interesting than boring old wheat noodles. It also doesn’t come with a seasoning packet, so we are forced to make something actually healthy (or at least more creative) out of it.

image
These noodles start out very dark, but they lighten to a deep purple with cooking.

I also threw in an egg, because one of my big complaints about that wonderfully convenient ramen is that it doesn’t provide much in the way of protein. So here we have a nice little egg drop/ramen combo, and quite frankly it’s delicious.

Feel free to play around with it by throwing in leafy greens, spring onions, snow peas, water chestnuts, or any other quick cooking vegetable you have on hand.

Black Rice Ramen with Mushrooms and Egg

Serves 1-2

  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 of one small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon powdered ginger (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 cup or so of mushrooms, sliced or chopped
  • 1 brick black rice ramen noodles
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1-2 teaspoons oil (I like avocado or coconut)
  • Salt, pepper, and your favorite hot sauce to taste
  1. Heat oil in a small pot and sauté one clove of the garlic and the mushrooms together. When the mushrooms are tender, add the ginger powder and stir, followed by the chicken broth.
  2. Bring the broth to a  low boil and add noodles. Cook roughly 3-5 minutes, until tender.
  3. Add the egg, stirring as you go to form threads in the broth. Remove from heat and add onion and remaining garlic. Allow to infuse in the broth for a minute or two, then adjust seasoning to taste and serve.
Leave a Reply

